College of Human Sciences SOE News

ISU curriculum and instructional technology students lead K-12 student technology fair

Iowa State expands support to doctoral students, sophomores, veterans
Iowa State is expanding its efforts to ensure student success in the midst of growing enrollment. New efforts are reaching out to sophomores, doctoral students, and veterans.
College of Human Sciences students offer Veishea 2014 activities
Check out activities hosted by College of Human Sciences students, faculty, and staff as part of the annual campus-wide VEISHEA 2014 celebration.
Women, minority college students more prone to severe homesickness
Research about college student homesickness and the experiences of black women professors are among Iowa State's contributions to this year's AERA annual meeting.
New book compares community college systems in all 50 states
A new book co-edited by Iowa State's Janice Friedel serves as a quick-reference guide on community college systems in all fifty states, for policymakers and scholars.
Science Bound produces engineers, researchers
Jesus Rodriguez and Maribel Piñon are among the success stories of Science Bound, an Iowa State program that offers ethnic minority students a route to higher education and career in STEM.
  Changes to special education in Iowa could hurt students and teachers

Multicultural mentors go extra mile to help children’s hospital
Multicultural mentors in the College of Human Sciences went above and beyond their assignments this year to raise money for a children's hospital, through the Iowa State University Dance Marathon.
  Search committee named for Iowa State University School of Education director

Iowa State social justice journal to receive national award
The Journal of Critical Thought and Praxis, published by graduate students in the ISU School of Education, will in March receive a national award from the Commission for Social Justice Educators.

SOE Internal News

Three Community College Legends Recognized for Contributions to Higher Education

The future of community colleges is dependent on the foundation set by the leaders of yesterday and today. With nearly 150 years of higher education experience between them, Larry Ebbers, Gunder Myran and Jerry Sue Thornton have helped to usher community colleges into the modern age and to prepare them for the future. They will be recognized with the national Leadership Award from the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) at the 94th AACC Annual Convention on Saturday, April 5 at the event’s opening session.

Read more

Jennifer Gallagher named member of National Council for Social Studies book review committee

Gallagher, a Ph.D. student in the School of Education, will serve a two-year term starting in February 2015 on the book review committee for notable trade books in social studies.

SOE members received College of Human Sciences awards for 2014

Award Recipients:
Anne Estapa—Early Achievement in Outreach
Mari Kemis—P&S Distinguished Achievement in Administration
Carl Smith—Career Achievement in Research Award
Amy Hutchison—-Early Achievement in Research Award
Larysa Nadolny—-Early Achievement in Teaching
Dan Robinson—-Faculty Award for Diversity Enhancement

NASPA reception honoring Dan Robinson’s retirement

Friends and alumni are cordially invited to a retirement reception honoring Dr. Dan Robinson’s 42 years of service at Iowa State and NASPA. [View invitation]

NASPA Annual Conference 2014

Monday, March 17, 2014

9:30 pm - 11:00 pm

Hilton, Key Ballroom 

Another reception at Iowa State University will be held on May 1, 2014. Further details will be announced later.




Jan Friedel was invited to participate in the Rural Community College Alliance’s visit

Jan Friedel , as the co-author of the report Leveraging Federal Funding Streams to Build Rural Economies, was invited to participate in the Rural Community College Alliance’s  visit to the White House and to other  federal agency officials on Feb. 11- 12,2014.  The group met with the White House Domestic Policy Staff’s Rural Council at the White House to discuss the importance and challenges of our nation’s rural communities and their community colleges.  Jan participated discussions with Secretary of Education Arne Duncan and Secretary Tom Vilsack at their respective agency buildings;  and also met with representatives from the Department of Labor, and the  Association of Rural Electrical Cooperatives. 

Amy Hutchison wins national Early Career Scholar for 2014 award

Hutchison, an assistant professor in the School of Education, will receive the award April 3 from the American Educational Research Association (AERA)’s special interest group for Technology as an Agent of Change in Teaching and Learning (TACTL).

ISU Dance Marathon raised $427,350.17

Congratulations to all of our CHS students who were leaders of this year’s Iowa State Dance Marathon and raised $427,350.17 for kids in the University of Iowa Children’s Hospital through Children’s Miracle Network. Kudos to general co-director Jessica Pearce in kinesiology; committee members Jill Zibrowski in kinesiology, Stephanie Tigges in elementary education, and Sadie Oakland in dietetics; and adviser Scott Broady in education.

Doctoral student, Aja Holmes, will receive the President’s Award

Aja Holmes, a doctoral student in the SOE, will receive the President’s Award at next week’s Ames NAACP Banquet.  

Connie Hargrave honored for a 2014 Martin Luther King, Jr. Advancing One Community Award

The Advancing One Community Award recognizes students, faculty, staff, and campus organizations that demonstrate their commitment to foster inclusive environments, and promote justice and equity at Iowa State University.

CTLT faculty received the 2013 AECT – Division of Distance Learning Best Journal Article Award

Dr. Ana-Paula Corriea, Dr. Ann Thompson, and Dr. Evrin Baran (ISU alumni) received the AECT (Association for Educational Communications and Technology) Division of Distance Learning Best Journal Article Award  with the article:

Baran, E., & Correia, A.-P. & Thompson, A. (2013). Tracing successful online teaching in higher education: Voices of exemplary online teachers. Teachers College Record, 115(3), p.-. Retrieved from

The Distance Learning Journal Article Award is presented to honor the author of an outstanding journal article, published within the past three years, that describes best practices in distance education or research on an important aspect of distance education. The award is presented by the AECT Division of Distance Learning (DDL) with generous sponsorship by Information Age Publishing (IAP). 

For more information about the award please check: