Recent graduates

The Iowa School Business Management Academy (ISBMA or “the Academy”) was established by Iowa State University in 1991. It was designed to prepare school business managers, board secretaries and school administrators for performance of their business management responsibilities in accordance with prevailing standards and accepted practices. 

ISBMA’s curriculum was developed based on Iowa’s standards and criteria for school business officials and has been approved by the Iowa Department of Education. The courses have been designed to improve management and leadership abilities of school personnel responsible for human resource services, business functions and finance operations in Iowa’s schools. Each of this year’s graduates completed a four-year sequence of classes that totals a minimum of 70 instructional hours. 

Upon earning this diploma, recipients then have the opportunity to participate in graduate level classes offered by ISBMA each spring. They also become eligible to teach classes for ISBMA and to serve as mentors to Iowa’s new school business officials.

Diploma – “Certificate of Completion”

The following individuals (seen above) are recent graduates from the Iowa School Business Management Academy at Iowa State University in Ames on May 3, 2019: 

Cathy Bonestroo – George-Little Rock CSD
Tracie Fette – Tripoli CSD
Teresa Griffith – Missouri Valley CSD
Eric Howard – Iowa Association of School Boards
Cynthia Johnson – Central DeWitt CSD
Kim Lubbert – Hudson CSD
Gwen Mathahs – North Iowa CSD
Neil Mills – Columbus CSD
Linda Rippentrop – West Des Moines CSD
Carla Schimelfenig – Iowa Department of Education
Anna Toohey
– Fort Dodge CSD
Christie VanWey – Center Point-Urbana CSD; Marion Independent CSD
Tashia Wheeler – Columbus CSD
Ashley Williams – Des Moines Public Schools



Proficiency plaque

Listed below are the individuals who were honored at the fall conference of the Iowa Association of School Business Officials held at The Meadows Conference Center in Altoona, Iowa on October 31, 2018. These 15 professionals received recognition for achieving proficiency on all levels of the four-year sequence of classes offered through Iowa State University’s Iowa School Business Management Academy. Recipients must have earned an Academy diploma for completing a series of required classes in the areas of school finance, human resources, school law, technology, and school business management over the four-year period. In addition, recognition of proficiency is only awarded to those who have taken the initiative to complete annual assessments of the course content and have performed at the designated level of proficiency on each of the assessments for all four years.

Kathy Biere – NE Hamilton
Randy Denham – Marshalltown (not pictured)
Heidi Diane Harness – Keokuk CSD
Janet M. Hartwig – North Polk
Dawn Kelly  – Mediapolis
Jennifer K. Larsen – North Kossuth CSD
Jean Moran
– Saydel (not pictured)
Alyssa Pfeffer – Clear Lake CSD
Ashley Ratliff – Central City CSD
Daniel Rold – Riverside/Griswold CSD
Jana Lynn Speck
– Cedar Falls
Jeffrey C. Swartzentruber – Mid-Prairie CSD
Rhiannon Tessum – East Union CSD
Lisa Wadsworth – Waukee CSD
Shawn Zanders –
Greene County (not pictured)